Customer Service “tips”

I’m not sure if this is a pet peeve or just a rant. But, if you are a business and have a tip jar/container on your counter or at your drive-thru window; pay very close attention as to what is written on it. And, make sure you provide what you ask for.

I stopped this morning at a chain doughnut shop for breakfast. When I pulled up to the drive-thru I was greeted with a somewhat pleasant, “Good morning. What can I get you?” Not a smile in their voice, good morning welcome or how may I help you? Granted it is 7:30 a.m., but I thought most people were awake at this hour. I ordered and pulled up to the window to pay and was once again greeted with a somewhat pleasant, “$3.05 please”. As I paid, I noticed at the side of the window was a large coffee mug with these words written on it, “Gratuities for exceptional service”. Well, at this point I would have settled for smiling, friendly service. But I could tell that wasn’t happening this morning. Maybe they were having a bad morning. Maybe I didn’t order the expensive coffee and pastry, or maybe they are not accustomed to giving exceptional service.

Across the street from this doughnut shop is a Chick-fil-A I visit frequently for breakfast. Every time I stop I am greeted with a, “Good morning. Welcome to Chick-fil-A. May I take your order please?” The Chick-fil-A employees are always pleasant, smiling, and greet you like they are happy to see you and serve you. Maybe the Chick-fil-A employees are better trained in customer service or maybe they just love their job. I don’t know. However, Chick-fil-A does not have a tip jar for “exceptional service”, and probably would not accept tips even if you offered them. But, these guys know how to serve their customers.

What has been your experience with customer service and the presentation of a tip jar? What would you do?

Leave a Reply

