What Are Your Strengths?

12389103Chances are, most of us don’t have the opportunity to do what we do best every day? Most of us spend more time trying to overcome our weaknesses instead of focusing on and developing our strengths.

I picked up a copy of Tom Rath’s “StrengthFinder 2.0” a couple of weeks ago after reading a post by Lindsey Nobles, Thomas Nelson’s Director of Corporate Communications. Lindsey had posted the results of her StrengthsFinder test on her blog.

Now, I know what I consider my strengths to be, but wondered what this test would reveal. I was amazed at how accurate my results were. The test also provided me with a report of my top five strengths along with an action plan for applying my strengths.

I’ll tell you how to get your StrengthsFinder test at the end of this post. For now, here are my Top 5: Analytical, Belief, Deliberative, Discipline, & Responsibility

Analytical
People who are especially talented in the Analytical theme search for reasons and causes.
They have the ability to think about all the factors that might affect a situation.

Belief
People who are especially talented in the Belief theme have certain core values that are
unchanging. Out of these values emerges a defined purpose for their life.

Deliberative
People who are especially talented in the Deliberative theme are best described by the serious
care they take in making decisions or choices. They anticipate the obstacles.

Discipline
People who are especially talented in the Discipline theme enjoy routine and structure. Their
world is best described by the order they create.

Responsibility
People who are especially talented in the Responsibility theme take psychological ownership
of what they say they will do. They are committed to stable values such as honesty and
loyalty.

So, what are your strengths?

Here’s how to get started:

  1. Visit to your local bookstore and buy StrengthsFinder 2.0, Strengths Based Leadership, or Now, Discover Your Strengths.
  2. Find 30 minutes or so of uninterrupted time.
  3. Go to www.strengthsfinder.com and take the online test.
4 thoughts on “What Are Your Strengths?

    • I wasn’t very surprised by the results. The results really just confirmed my thoughts. However, I was very surprised as to how accurate the results were. I never thought a test could be this specific at revealing one’s strengths. Thank you. Your post was my encouragement.

  1. Pingback: What Are Your Gifts? « Better Than I Deserve

  2. Pingback: What Is Your Personality Type? « Better Than I Deserve

Leave a Reply

