40th Birthday Goals

Yesterday I celebrated my 39th birthday. I spent a part of the day reflecting on where I’ve been and where I’m going. Thinking of things I need to be doing with my life and other things I want to be doing with my life. John Maxwell talks about when you celebrate your 40th birthday, you’ve supposedly gone “over the hill.” You’re past your prime and beginning to show signs of age. As true as that may be, I think you’re only as old as you let yourself feel. Many are past their prime in their 30s and others are still going strong in the 60s and 70s.

Well, I’m not sure where you are in your life, but I have several things I need to do before I’m past my prime. In his article, John Maxwell recommended 10 things you should have in place before turning 40. So for the next year I am going to work on these things, and hopefully by the time I turn 40 I will have checked all of them off my list.

  1. Know Yourself
  2. Settle Your Family Life
  3. Determine Your Priorities
  4. Develop Your Philosophy
  5. Get Physically Fit
  6. Learn Your Trade
  7. Pay the Price
  8. Develop Strong Relationships
  9. Prepare for the Future
  10. Find God’s Will
Leave a Reply

